“Can I delete my Apple account and create a new one?” This idea may come to your mind in certain situations. If you no longer want your current Apple account, you are able to delete it permanently through Apple’s new Data & Privacy website.
Apple established the Data & Privacy website in early this year to allow users request their personal Apple data. You can use this page to delete your Apple ID permanently.
Note that once you delete the account, you won’t be able to do a lot of things like accessing your iTunes or seeing your iCloud documents. So, before that, you are suggested to make a local backup of your date, or get a copy of the data from the Data & Privacy website. Meanwhile, sign out of the devices associated with the Apple ID.
If you have made up your mind about this decision, follow the steps below:
- Log into the Privacy page with your Apple ID and password
- If prompted, enter your two-step authentication code and click Continue
- Click the Get Started link under the Delete Your Account heading
- When prompted, select a reason for your request from the pull-down box
- Click Continue, review the information again, and click Continue
- Check the Delete Terms & Conditions box, and click Continue
- Choose a contact method so as to get account status updates, and click Continue
- Write down the unique access code that will be used to verify your identify with Apple Support or to cancel the account deletion process if you change your mind
- Enter the access code, click Continue, and click Delete Account
Now you have complete the account deletion request. Apple says that the deletion request will be verified and that the process could take up to 7 days to complete. During the period your account will remain active, and once the deletion is complete, you will receive the notification through the contact method you have chose.
You won’t be able to retrieve the account as soon as it’s been deleted.